What is Love Really?

Love is an emotion, an attachment a holding of someone in high esteem.

Romantic love is more physical, more sensual, desiring to be with the person usually for a very long time or even for life!

Love comes in many different forms, the Greeks have different words to describe the different types of love that humans feel towards one another.

Eros Love

The first kind of love was eros, named after the Greek god of fertility (called Cupido in Rome or Cupid), and it represented the idea of sexual passion and desire.

But the Greeks didn’t always think of it as something positive, as we tend to do today.

In fact, eros was viewed as a dangerous, fiery, and irrational form of love that could take hold of you and possess you.

Clients always come to Break Up Spells and request to make their desired lover “madly in love” with them.

They want “eros” type of love from their partner where the person losses “control” of themselves – yet the ancient Greeks were scared of eros type of love!

Philia Love

The second variety of love was philia or friendship, which the Greeks valued far more than the base sexuality of eros.

It was about showing loyalty to your friends, sacrificing for them, as well as sharing your emotions with them.

Note: another kind of philia, sometimes called storge, embodied the love between parents and their children.

This is different from “friends” on social media where you amass “friends” – yet you really don’t know these folks.

Philia is about your home-girl/home-boy, those who know you since childhood, or in adulthood you can share your deepest secrets and they will not spread rumors, gossip, etc.

Ludus Love

This was the Greeks’ idea of playful love, which referred to the affection between children or young lovers. We’ve all had a taste of it in the flirting and teasing in the early stages of a relationship.

But we also live out our ludus when we sit around in a bar bantering and laughing with friends, or when we go out dancing.

Dancing with strangers may be the ultimate ludic activity, almost a playful substitute for sex itself.

Social norms may frown on this kind of adult frivolity, but a little more ludus might be just what we need to spice up our love lives.

Agape Love

The fourth love, and perhaps the most radical, was agape or selfless love. This was a love that you extended to all people, whether family members or distant strangers.

Agape was later translated into Latin as caritas, which is the origin of our word “charity.”

Pragma Love

Another Greek love was the mature love known as pragma. This was the deep understanding that developed between long-married couples.

Pragma was about making compromises to help the relationship work over time, and showing patience and tolerance.

Philautia Love

The Greek’s sixth variety of love was philautia or self-love. And the clever Greeks realized there were two types:

  • Narcissism, where you became self-obsessed and focused on personal fame and fortune.
  • The other is a healthier version which basically is the idea was that if you like yourself and feel secure in yourself, you will have plenty of love to give others (as is reflected in the Buddhist-inspired concept of “self-compassion”).

Oddly, from the tons of emails we receive asking for spells, – we only get maybe 1 to 2 requests a year for a spell to help boost their own self-confidence and grow to love themselves.


Looking for Love Spells? Click here.